top of page

An interesting way to meet someone ;)

Hey, hey! Long time no see.


Been busy with university, finding a place to live (because the driving from home would just kill me) and training. So what have I've been up to?


Well, the summer was quite busy. I did a lot of training, a couple competitions and some traveling. My favourite part? The traveling and the competing... But this time we'll talk about the traveling bit.


"How long were You gone?"


I was gone for 3 weeks. I left on July 27th and came back late at night on my birthday, August 17th. Best 3 weeks a person can ask for.


"Where were You???"


I was in France and Italy mostly. My favourite was of course France, but the food in Italy is to die for. I'm pretty sure I'm still working to train off everything that I ate in Italy. In France I spent most of my time in Paris, a night in Lyon and a couple days in Nice. If You are gonna ask me which was my favourite, it was Paris of course. I even stayed there longer than I had originally planned, thats why I only got a night in Lyon. I also somehow spent an awful a lot of time on the train. The train delays in France are insane. I was stuck in Marseille for around 4 hours on my way to Nice. And on my way from Paris to Lyon I was supposed to change trains, but again, train delay, which meant I was stuck in a little town in the middle of France for about 3 hours. No worries, I got where I was supposed to be.


I was also in Italy. I was in Milan, Turin (definitely my favourite place "people wise" in Italy) and then I went to Como, right by the Como Lake. (Definitely the most beautiful place in Italy) There were no train delays in Italy although on my way from Milan to Como, something happened to the train and everyone was supposed to drive one stop, get off and literally RUN to the next train. (They couldn't go from the same platform or the platform right next to the train we drove, oh no no no. The train was like 3 platforms away.) Anyways, I got where I needed to be so I would say I successfully got around.


An interesting way to meet someone ;)


When I was in Nice, I was going out with a friend I met in Lyon. We were going back to our hostels (which btw were like 3 min apart). Her hostel was locked from 3-6am and at that point it was like 4am. She met a girl by the door so I was allowed to go back to my hoste. As I left her and started walking, a very strange looking guy approached me. He had glasses and a mustache and I don't usually judge people by their looks, but this guy looked SUPER sketchy. (btw I'm sorry if You're reading this... You were the best roommate XD) He came up to me and said that he had heard me talking english to my friends so he knew I spoke english. I was like.... okay...? Then he went ahead and asked me where I was staying. OBVIOUSLY, I wasn't gonna say where I was staying to this weird looking dude, so instead I smiled and asked where he was staying. He said my hostels name. He pulled out the key to the hostel. I said, that I was staying there as well, so he said

"awesome, what room are You in?"

"Im in room 254" (I think that was the rooms number, don't really remember.)

"Awesome! Nice to meet You roomie XD!"

At that point I was like *What the hell is going on*

"wait... what room are You in?"

"254 XD!"


And thats the story of how I met one of the most awesome people on this trip and it just so happened that he was also my roommate. (I was staying in a 4 bed mixed dorm) On my trip I met around 130 people, but that was the weirdest way to meet a roommate...At least in my experience...


Okay, so now... I'm done traveling... Till the next summer at least. I have started studying in university and it has been so much fun! Today I moved into the student dorms. Right now in my room, alone, writing this while listening to music. (If You are from the dorms and You hear some weird electronic music it's probably me, so don't be shy and come say hi. I'm probably on my computer writing silly blog posts anyways)


So yea. That's it for today. If You enjoyed the story of how I met my roommate, let me know. (In whatever way You want to) I have so many of these travel stories now, so if You want another one literally just text me, send a message on instagram (@madara.jancenko) or just write a comment.


Anyways, have fun, enjoy the Sunday and have a nice week :)



bottom of page